CVPDC board member election results individual leaders

Contact: Alec Brebner
Executive Director, CVPDC

Lynchburg, VA –Central Virginia Planning District Commission (CVPDC) have elected new officers to serve for the 2023-2024 fiscal year, effective July 01, 2023.

The officer positions include Richard Conner, Mayor of Appomattox, as Chairman; Jeff Helgeson, Lynchburg City Councilor, as Vice-Chairman; and Terry McGhee, Appomattox Town Manager, as Treasurer. Reggie Bennett, Vice Mayor of the Town of Altavista, was also welcomed as a new commissioner.

Mayor Connor, who previously served as Vice-Chairman for a year, now assumes chairman responsibilities as the agency initiates a comprehensive safety action plan for all transportation modes, a preservation plan for the James River and a regional resiliency plan to evaluate mitigation actions for flash flooding.

Additionally, the agency will administer grant investments in housing and infrastructure in the towns of Appomattox and Bedford.

Previous chairman, Mayor Dwayne Tuggle, will remain on the Commission. During his tenure, Mayor Tuggle led the selection process for a new executive director. He also oversaw CVPDC’s first-ever investments in housing and brownfields—$2 million in new affordable units in Amherst, Lynchburg, and Altavista, as well as $500,000 in reuse of derelict buildings and sites throughout Appomattox, Bedford, and Campbell counties. Mayor Tuggle continues to represent Central Virginia to the Virginia Association of Planning District Commissions.

It has been an honor to serve as chairman for this past year,” Mayor Tuggle said. “I look forward to continuing to serve on the CVPDC commission, as well as continuing to serve as First Vice-President of the VAPDC.

The CVPDC and its 23 members look forward to continuing its mission in the new fiscal year. The Commission convenes every other month at 828 Main Street, downtown Lynchburg. Find more information about membership and initiatives on the official website,

The Central Virginia Planning District Commission works to provide services for member localities within the 10 Central Virginia jurisdictions, identifying and developing opportunities for coordination among the region's local governments. These opportunities include matters of regional significance and liaising with statewide and federal partners.


Central Virginia Planning District Commission


828 Main Street, 12th Floor
Lynchburg, VA 24504
(434) 845-3491

CVMPO Central va planning logo web

Members of: VAPDC logo 0619