central va rural transportation planning district commission


VDOT’s Rural Transportation Planning Program was created by the Transportation Mobility Planning Division (TMPD) in 1993 to provide funding to the twenty rural transportation planning regions in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The Planning District Commission's Policy Board serves as the decision makers for this program within the planning area, with the Transportation Technical Committee (TTC) serving as the advisory body.

The Rural Transportation Planning Program in our region functions as a cooperative forum for transportation planning among the Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT), the Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation (VDRPT), transportation service providers, and the counties of Amherst, Appomattox, Bedford, and Campbell. While the Central Virginia Transportation Planning Organization has authority over the urbanized areas of Amherst, Bedford, Campbell, and the City of Lynchburg, the Rural Transportation Planning Program focuses outside of the MPO boundaries to the region’s rural areas. 


Current Plans and Programs


Central Virginia Planning District Commission


828 Main Street, 12th Floor
Lynchburg, VA 24504
(434) 845-3491

CVMPO Central va planning logo web

Members of: VAPDC logo 0619